Upcoming Korean drama

Upcoming Korean drama "Angel Eyes"

Added the upcoming Korean drama "Angel Eyes"'s page to HanCinema database

"Angel Eyes" (2014)

Directed by Choi Moon-seok

Written by Yoon Ji-ryeon

Network : SBS

Sat, Sun 21:55


A man and a woman reunite 12 years later after they have no choice but to break up with their first loves.

Broadcast starting date in Korea : 2014/03


Korean Drama

Korean Drama "Unkind Women" First Review

Korean Drama Unkind Women First Review

Like any caring matriarch, mothers worry about their children. They might even go see a fortune teller to see what the future holds - which is exactly what Kang Soon Ok (Kim Hye Ja) does in “Unkind Women.” The first few episodes reveal that plenty of hardships are hitting each of the “unkind” women. Rather than being unkind, they are strong women who have to persevere as they encounter adversities.

Screen shot 2015-02-27 at 11.49.03 PM

Let’s meet these so-called not-so-nice ladies.

The Matriarch: Kang Soon Ok

Screen shot 2015-03-03 at 11.56.10 PM

A cooking class instructor, and Mama Bear to two daughters and a granddaughter, Kang Soon Ok is a widow. Her biggest (and oldest) beef? Her late husband’s girlfriend, with whom he cheated on her. She’s been out of the picture - well, until recently.

The Gambler: Kim Hyun Sook

Screen shot 2015-03-01 at 12.23.40 AM

Gambling addiction is a frightening thing, and one that has captured Hyun Sook (Chae Si Ra), Soon Ok’s daughter. Her husband’s backpacking somewhere in Spain (Santiago’s way, perhaps). She’s done some colossal damage with her gambling this time around, tossing all her mother’s life savings down the drain. She’s not afraid to throw down some adolescent bullies, and is quite possibly the craziest of the bunch. One minute she’s suicidal, the next – she’s wheeling and dealing again.

The Professor – Er, Part-Time Lecturer: Ma Ri.

Screen shot 2015-02-28 at 10.51.53 PM

Soon Ok’s granddaughter, and Hyun Sook’s daughter, Ma Ri (Lee Ha Na, a gem in “King of High School“) gets fired from her teaching job because of the missteps of a certain reporter. She, in her naïvete, offered to hand out A’s to students when she tried to rally up some school spirit. (Handing out A’s, though? Even in jest…that’s something else.)

The Anchorwoman: Kim Hyun Jung

Screen shot 2015-03-03 at 11.58.01 PM

Soon Ok’s older daughter, Hyun Jung (Do Ji Won), is smart, successful, and can fish out workplace gossip like stealing candy from a baby. She’s also got a sharp eye and a chilly presence.

And then, of course, we’ve got everyone else in their world.

The Most Elegant Lady You’ll Ever Meet: Jang Mo Ran

Screen shot 2015-03-02 at 11.17.41 PM

Jang Mo Ran (Jan Mi Hee), Soon Ok’s husband’s girlfriend, is much scorned and forgotten by Soon Ok. Until Mo Ran picks the unconscious Hyun Sook off the ground, takes her home from the hospital, and gives her a cool million and some new threads. She also might be Hyun Sook’s biological mother – but you didn’t hear it from me. 

The Teacher-Turned-Novelist: Na Hyun Ae

Screen shot 2015-03-01 at 2.55.37 PM

Apparently Na Hyun Ae (Seo Yi Sook) is responsible for ruining Hyun Sook’s life back when Hyun Sook had her as a high school teacher. She accused Hyun Sook of stealing which resulted in Hyun Sook getting expelled. She’s got a cold smile, this one. God only knows the secrets hiding behind that icy mug. (Sidenote: is it me or is Seo Yi Sook getting typecast?)

The Best Friend Enabler: Jong Mi

Screen shot 2015-03-04 at 1.30.27 AM

Jong Mi (Kim Hye Eun) is Hyun Sook’s one and only friend. She’s around so much she’s practically part of Hyun Sook’s family. Even though she rags on her bestie for her reckless gambling, she’s an enabler at heart: she loans money when Hyun Sook’s chips are down and out.

The Careless Reporter: Lee Doo Jin

Screen shot 2015-02-28 at 10.57.47 PM

A bit hungry for a piece of journalism on a slow news day, Lee Doo Jin (Kim Ji Suk) reports on Ma Ri’s students and accidentally gets her canned. He’s also Na Hyun Ae’s son. Doo Jin is likely a potential love interest for Ma Ri further down the line, though there’s no sign of that now.

The Handsome Stranger In The Shower: Lee Roo Oh

shower collage

Well hello, Lee Roo Oh (Song Jae Rim), aka the only real eye candy so far. He’s the one Ma Ri showered adjacent to when she accidentally (mmhmm) walked into the wrong locker room. He was the sleepy headed bloke napping away in an empty classroom, which Ma Ri mistook for student support. (Sidenote: let’s hope we see Song Jae Rim with more screen time.) Previews allude to a bit of romance between the two.

What do you think the future – and romance – have in store for these ladies?

Via: Soompi


Korean Drama

Korean Drama "Heard It Through the Grapevine" Episode 2 Review

Highlights: “Heard It Through the Grapevine” Episode 2

We knew that In Sang’s parents wouldn’t react well to the news that they were becoming grandparents, but that doesn’t make their actions in the second episode of “Heard It Through the Grapevine” any easier to watch. They’re in full damage-control mode, but what they don’t seem to understand is that love can’t be controlled—and love truly is the force that surrounds the family unit of Bom, In Sang, and their child.

These were my five favorite scenes from “Heard It Through the Grapevine” episode 2:

1. Bom sees In Sang’s house for the first time

It turns out that In Sang hid the truth of his family situation from Bom (he tried to impress her by saying he was a scholarship student!), but the jig is up once she sees his impossibly lavish house. I love how this scene is filmed—at first, we slowly follow Bom and In Sang as they make their way through the foyer into the living room. The soundtrack is eerie, and a sense of dread pervades the atmosphere of the house. Then, the camera moves to Bom’s face, as she starts to take in just what she’s seeing, and a dolly zoom is utilized to emphasize the sense of unreality she is experiencing, as though the Han house is on another planet entirely.

heard it through the grapevine go ah sung lee joon 1 final heard it through the grapevine go ah sung lee joon 2 final

2. A revelation, and labor

Every aspect of Bom’s introduction to the Han family is a treasure: In Sang’s hysterical explanation (“We made the seal of love!”); his parents’ equally hysterical reactions; the way that all of the household help gathers around to watch the spectacle; the fact that Bom is the only person present with a level head, and her determination to take responsibility for what’s happened (In Sang: “I couldn’t control myself.” Bom: “Me neither.”); the culmination of this entire horror show, in which Bom’s water breaks on the living room couch. It’s all fantastic, a perfect meld of great acting, writing, and directing.

heard it through the grapevine lee joon go ah sung 3 finalheard it through the grapevine yoo joon sang yoo ho jeong final

3. A conversation with Bom’s family

Thank goodness for Bom’s family. They’ve made no secret of how uncomfortable Bom’s early, out-of-wedlock pregnancy makes them, but their love for their daughter has never been in doubt, and that love comes through in the phone call that Bom makes after delivering her son. Just as wonderful as their love for their daughter is their almost immediate acceptance of In Sang, whom Bom’s mother demands to speak to so that she can tell him that he did a good job too. His own parents treat the baby as a problem to be solved efficiently and impersonally, and refuse to so much as look at their new grandson, while Bom’s parents want to see photos. No wonder Bom grew up to be a clever, even-keeled girl, while In Sang is a nervous wreck.

heard it through the grapevine bom's family finalheard it through the grapevine go ah sung lee joon 4 final

4. “My charms don’t seem to work in this house.”

Young love! It’s great! I just love seeing how obviously In Sang adores Bom—and vice versa. They know that they have an uphill climb ahead of them (a very very steep uphill climb!), but they also know that they have each other. That’s so important, both to them as characters and us as viewers.

heard it through the grapevine go ah sung lee joon 5 final

5. “I’ve overcome my shame.”

Seo Bom is the drama heroine we deserve! I am so glad that she recognizes Mom’s evil plan and is ready to stand up for herself. Bom has no illusions about what she’s done, or how others see her, but she’s moved on. She has other problems to deal with—chief among them, how to get her sort-of-mother-in-law out of the way so that she can take care of her son. I’m so excited to see Bom continue to stand up for herself and her family (including In Sang!).

heard it through the grapevine yoo ho jeong finalheard it through the grapevine go ah sung final

What did you think of this episode? Let us know in the comments below!

Via: Soompi


Korean Drama Heart to Heart Review

Korean Drama Heart to Heart Review

Korean Drama “Heart to Heart” Review

Of the currently airing dramas that I’m watching, “Heart to Heart” just might be my favorite—and nobody’s more surprised by that than I am! The first two episodes established interesting characters and an intriguing premise, but “Heart to Heart” has blossomed into a beautiful exploration of love, relationships, and human interaction. Every episode delivers so many joyous, touching moments that I’m genuinely sad when they’re over—and I never would have expected that after the first week of episodes.

So what aspect of “Heart to Heart” has helped turn it into such a must-watch drama? For me, the answer is simple: the main couple. The relationship between Hong Do (Choi Kang Hee) and Yi Suk (Chun Jung Myung) has developed from its initial adversarial nature into a believable, sweet, passionate, swoon-worthy, refreshingly adult romance.

heart to heart chun jung myung final

The truth is that after the first two episodes, I was worried that Yi Suk was far too cold and uncaring, and that he would never be a suitable partner for the cripplingly shy Hong Do. But it was quickly revealed that while our initial view of Yi Suk wasn’t inaccurate, it was far from complete. As his grandfather puts it, once Yi Suk has a project, he dedicates himself to it wholeheartedly. So once he made Hong Do his project, he seriously applied himself to helping her to interact with people—which meant that he himself got closer to Hong Do than she’d allowed anyone before. The effect of this closeness on both of them is undeniable, especially as it becomes increasingly clear that Yi Suk is, in his own way, just as lonely as Hong Do (his family life is certainly no picnic!).

The quick, intense development of their relationship results in Hong Do and Yi Suk sleeping together by episode four—which completely shocked me. But it also completely sold me on “Heart to Heart,” because the scene when Yi Suk first kisses Hong Do is truly one of the sweetest, gentlest, most beautiful scenes I’ve ever seen. The look on Yi Suk’s face as he starts to realize that maybe he’s finally met a person he can feel safe with is nothing short of astounding, and the respect with which he treats Hong Do made me instantly forgive him for every terrible thing he had done up to that point.

The aftermath of Hong Do and Yi Suk’s night together is also handled well, as Hong Do struggles between her developing feelings for Yi Suk and her years-long love for Doo Soo (Lee Jae Yoon). It’s easy to see why she has trouble deciding between Yi Suk, who is alternately abrasive and loving, and Doo Soo, who is (almost) always gentle-hearted and kind and solicitous. But when Hong Do decides, in episode eight, that she is going to pursue her relationship with Yi Suk, even though its future is far from certain, it’s a triumphant moment. It’s quite moving to see this shy, scared woman resolve to boldly pursue her desires, even though it won’t be easy.

heart to heart choi kang hee chun jung myung final

Doo Soo also a great character in his own right. What I find interesting about him is that even though he is the “nice guy” option for Hong Do, he’s very clearly not perfect. Although he’s well-intentioned, he lived most of his life being just as passive as Hong Do. It takes being dumped by his fiancée for Doo Soo to realize, too late, that he reciprocates Hong Do’s feelings. As the viewer, there is definitely a part of me that is on Doo Soo’s side—he’s a genuinely really good guy, and I believe that he would always try to treat Hong Do well.

Ultimately, though, I’m watching “Heart to Heart” for Hong Do and Yi Suk. I’m watching for the chemistry between Choi Kang Hee and Chun Jung Myung, which sparks even when they’re just looking at each other. I’m watching for the way that Yi Suk inspires Hong Do to be brave—and the way that she inspires him to be good. To be clear, I always enjoy this drama. The acting is excellent across the board (in addition to the actors I’ve already mentioned, I also really enjoy Sohee as Ko Se Ro; she’s made me laugh out loud more than once, even with limited screen-time), the soundtrack is superb, and the comedic and dramatic elements are well-balanced. But Hong Do and Yi Suk are, to me, what make “Heart to Heart” such a stand-out delight.

akinahana89′s Thoughts

Just a few short weeks after my first impression of “Heart to Heart,” where I reacted negatively towards particular characters and cited general uncertainties about the plot, I’m a canary singing a completely different tune now.

Although my leap onto the I-can’t-get-enough-of-this-drama bandwagon didn’t occur until episode 5, that didn’t signify that “Heart to Heart” wasn’t good in the beginning because it was. It offered the type of stability and consistency that I adore, but it was also the kind of drama where I preferred to dip my toes in a few extra times to make sure the water is okay (and maybe not secretly swimming with piranhas?!) before diving in headfirst.

But once I did, boy, did I get swept away by the waves! … And I’m not even trying to save myself.

Cha Hong Do continues to completely win my heart with her witty sassiness towards Ko Yi Suk and I love that she’s actively conquering her anthrophobia, even if she doesn’t realize she’s doing it sometimes! She consistently feels so incredibly real, even her tendency to curse on a normal basis, and manages to touch hearts without even trying that I adore her to the ends of the earth and back. She’s so fabulous and I hate that she doesn’t even realize that. (Come on, Hong Do! It was only a list of ten qualities!) Luckily, Ko Yi Suk will be there to bring her some self confidence.

heart to heart choi kang hee 2 final

Speaking of, Ko Yi Suk’s transformation has been nothing short of amazing. He’s still quick tempered and sharp tongued, but he also has a surprising sweet side that makes me swoon. The insight into his family’s history definitely explains his flaws and brash attitude, but what I like about him is that he always listens to Cha Hong Do’s suggestions, even if he decides to pitch a fit first. His unique relationship with his director, Uhm Ki Choon (Seo Yi Sook), was also a pleasant surprise that always makes me crack a smile. Ko Yi Suk has successfully managed to worm his way into my heart and set up camp, so it looks like he might be staying for a while.

Perhaps what’s most surprising of all though, is that sweet, kind, and lovable Detective Jang Do Soo now seems a tad bit menacing to me and I’m not sure what to do with that. Aside from his unexpectedly violent temper tantrums, I was more concerned with his attempts to control Cha Hong Do, which made her feel uncomfortable in the process. Threatening bodily injury towards Ko Yi Suk, practically taking her phone out of her hands by force, speaking for her without her consent, saying things like, “I hate this the most, so don’t do it,” and even telling Cha Hong Do that she’s misunderstanding her own emotions when, not too long ago, he only knew her as the woman who had sent him side dishes for seven years and had never held a conversation with her, is all sorts of wrong to me.

In fact, his deep, sudden love for Cha Hong Do appears pretty dicey to begin with, but I’m not sure if all this is a result of misled directing, poor editing, or if that is just Jang Do Soo, the character, himself. What I do know; however, is that rather than fawning over him as I did in the beginning, now I feel leery whenever I see him.

heart to heart lee jae yoon final

Other than the changes I saw in Jang Do Soo, I also find it disappointing that Ko Se Ro is still an insignificant character at this point, because I was pretty curious about her. Although I think she was meant to be comic relief, I’ve yet to laugh at her antics. I’m also still questioning the approach of Ko Yi Suk’s supposed genius abilities as a psychiatrist. All the examples we’ve been provided so far of his talent would not have been successful if Cha Hong Do hadn’t guided him in the right direction and I’m really craving an intense scene where he can truly wow me with his abilities.

heart to heart sohee final

All in all, “Heart to Heart” certainly has its flaws, but it’s still well worth the watch for our delightful OTP, Cha Hong Do and Ko Yi Suk, and to witness Cha Hong Do facing the world with confidence for the first time. Not to mention, I do love some of the issues they’ve been tackling in this drama that others dare not touch, like consensually sleeping with each other on a whim before love ever decided to enter the picture and then dealing with the aftermath like two (semi) normal and mature adults? Yes, please!

Are you watching “Heart to Heart?” How are you liking it? Let us know in the comments below!


Korean Drama

Korean Drama "Kill Me, Heal Me" Episode 1 Review

By: Soompi

First Impressions: “Kill Me, Heal Me”

The first episode of “Kill Me, Heal Me” begins with a short visual preface on the back story of our main man Cha Do Hyun (Ji Sung) and his family tragedy. Bringing us ten years prior to present day, Cha Do Hyun is a kind, popular student and football player at an American school, but purposely far away from his grandmother and mother. A physical encounter with the abusive father of a classmate triggers trauma from his childhood, which triggers something even darker: his dissociative identity disorder (aka multiple personality disorder).

1. Cha Do Hyun discovers the monster living inside of him.


After the incident with the abusive father, Cha Do Hyun’s DID kicks in and sends him into this fearless, cruel personality. Though he returns to the house and beats the father to a bloody mess, he remembers absolutely nothing when he wakes up as his normal self. It seems that it is after this he discovers his disorder.

2. Someone has been following Cha Do Hyun for a long time…


We meet Oh Ri Ohn (Park Seo Joon), a mystery novel author by the pen name “Omega-3” on Cha Do Hyun’s present-day flight back to Korea. Though he is a quite cheeky and seems to be a point of comedic relief, it soon becomes apparent that he is much more than meets the eye. As he goes through some of his stuff in his car, he pulls out a binder full of pictures and articles of Cha Do Hyun—the same articles from the visual preface in the beginning.

3. A woman from Cha Do Hyun’s past in America appears again in Korea.


While at an exclusive club with a close friend of his, Cha Do Hyun encounters Han Chae Yun (Kim Yoo Ri). Though their full relationship to each other is still a bit vague, it is clear that they were more than just friends. As she is down on the dance floor with his friend, Cha Ki Joon (Oh Min Suk), he stares down at her and has a flashback of bashfully making plans with her on Christmas Day.

4. Psychiatrist Oh Ri Jin chases a rogue patient, chancing upon Cha Do Hyun for the second time.


Our final main character, Oh Ri Jin (Hwang Jung Eum) had appeared earlier in the episode when she angrily met her brother, Oh Ri Ohn, at the airport when Cha Do Hyun arrived in Korea. Because her brother falsely channeled the reporters to her, she was being driven crazy with them thinking she was actually the author. Making a scene, Oh Ri Jin was hauled away by her brother as he loudly apologized for his “sick” sister.

Later, when one of her seriously mentally ill patients goes rogue and escapes the hospital, Oh Ri Jin figures out where she went and chases her down. She discovers the woman, who had just approached Cha Do Hyun and was flirting with him, but when the patient sees Oh Ri Jin, she hurriedly tells Cha Do Hyun that Oh Ri Jin is her crazy patient who is out to get her. Being too trusting, Cha Do Hyun stops Oh Ri Jin thinking that she actually is the patient.

Frustrated that he won’t let her go, Oh Ri Jin flips Cha Do Hyun over and onto his back. As you can guess, that is a mistake.

5. Cha Do Hyun’s cruel personality, Shin Se Gi, comes out and cockily takes over.


Cha Do Hyun had rushed to the bathroom as he felt his personality switch approaching, but he switched before he could take his medication. As Shin Se Gi steps out of the stall, a man doing his eyeliner is startled and ruins his makeup, and the man becomes angry. Needless to say, Shin Se Gi initiates a fight and steals the man’s jacket and earring because they’re “his style.”

As Shim Se Gi leaves the club, he runs into Oh Ri Jin again. A set of slightly cheesy scenes ensue as Shim Se Gi boldly tells Oh Ri Jin to remember that exact moment (February 7, 2015 at 10 p.m. on the dot) as the exact time he fell for her. Then the biker gang of the man from before arrives after getting a call, and prepare to beat him. Of course, he beats each of them single-handedly.

My First Impression:

MENTAL ILLNESS DRAMA!! Being that “It’s Okay, It’s Love” is my favorite drama of all time (for many reasons, but largely for the successful portrayal of different mental illnesses), I was super, super excited to start this drama. Since I love psychology, I’ve always found certain mental illnesses (actually schizophrenia and DID in particular) very intriguing, and have liked seeing the different ways they are portrayed—granted that they are portrayed correctly.

Anyway, even though I found the little eye color change when Cha Do Hyun turns into Shin Se Gi just a little, tiny bit extremely cheesy and obviously unrealistic, I was pleased overall with the portrayal so far. I’m really hoping that even with the many different personalities that are going to be depicted, each one will be medically accurate—eye color change aside, of course.

In terms of the other characters, I’m definitely looking forward to an explanation of Oh Ri Ohn’s collection of information on Cha Do Hyun. I mean, since when has that kind of thing been revealed in the first episode of anything? Not that I’m particularly complaining. And then there’s Oh Ri Jin. Her personality is right up my alley, and I can’t wait to see more. She had a little monologue in her head near the end of the episode after Shin Se Gi “confessed” to her where she talks through a cliché hoping he won’t say it and he does. When the bikers showed up, she asked herself why the genre changed from a romance comedy to action… to an erotic… then to a bromance. Yeah, she and I clicked.

Are you excited to start this drama? Which version of Do Hyun appeals to you more?


Korean Drama 'The King

Korean Drama 'The King"s Face' Episode 2 Review

By: Dramafever

A book can be judged by his cover, and apparently so can a king. The group searching for the new king who will bring equality to Joseon is basing its search on face reading. Because of her face, Ga-hee is searched out to be something she doesn"t want to be. Because of his face, Gwanghae is an enemy of his father. In the world of "The King"s Face", looks matter.

In Ga-hee"s case, the face reader is able to pin her for the type of woman for whom the king has been searching . It establishes the premise that both father and son will love the same woman, Ga-hee. This will be the secondary conflict atop the current political tensions between father and son. When Ga-hee is brought to the palace, then the two conflicts will merge into one big ball of trouble.

What trouble me most about this episode was the childhood romance that happened between Gwanghae and Ga-hee. It seemed very forced. It was necessary to forge a bond between the two quickly, but the connection between them as adults still hasn"t quite happened beyond a few forced romantic "oops" moments. Those moments don"t fit the overall tone of the show and seem as out of place as the music, which sounds as though it were scored for a different drama.

I suppose the issue I have with "The King"s Face" is the inability to connect with any of the relationships. They are forced down our throats and have no gravitas. I don"t feel how much Ga-hee cares for her father to pity her when she cries for him. Our newest character, Kim Do-chi, loses his mentor and sobs in angst, which again, I have no connection to. While this show is well-choreographed and slick, all that gloss doesn"t allow for me to have a concrete connection to the characters.

-What this show does have going is the fact that the momentum has not slowed. Political intrigue is always high and many very important people are constantly playing for power. It"s a good set-up for young, not-yet-wisened Prince Gwanghae to step into as the idealist who wants to do right by the woman he loves and by his people. Gwanghae has the strongest set up in terms of character. We"ve seen the most sides of him and have been shown his intentions as a man and as a future king.

I need more time with "The King"s Face". It has a lot of potential that hasn"t yet been fulfilled. Perhaps that will happen once the lightning fast opening episodes have passed.

"The King"s Face" is directed by Cha Yeong-hoon and Yoon Seong-sik, written by Lee Hyang-hee and Yoon Soo-jeong, and features Seo In-guk, Jo Yoon-hee, Lee Seong-jae, and Sin Seong-rok.


Korean Drama 'The King's Face' Episode 1 Review

Korean Drama 'The King's Face' Episode 1 Review

By: Dramafever

"The King"s Face" opened with a fast-paced, visually pleasing and plot-thin first episode. All main characters were introduced with their major qualities and quirks and physiognomy, or face reading, is given its proper place at the top of the totem pole. Based upon this opener the drama could be beautiful and vapid, or beautiful and delve deeper than what was given in this first taste.

There is no doubt that "The King"s Face" is a beautiful drama. The filming is smooth, the colors vibrant, the angles creative. The casting is solid, costumes and sets are lovely. Everything is as it should be. And yet, it felt like mindless hour. There was no need to truly engage in order to follow along. The premise is an old one: father and son of high-stature pitted against each other as political enemies. King Seonjo and Prince Gwanghae are a well-known story in Korean history. It"s all well-trodden territory. Even the face-reading aspect is used and, in fact, disputed. What "The King"s Face" is going to need is to be more than skin deep.

That said, let"s talk about the actors. Seo In-guk is engaging as always. He has taken on all of his own stunt work, which allows for some great viewing, but also means he"s gotten hurt twice. I"m not sure if the excitement is worth his health, especially with the grueling live shoot process. Seo has a natural affability that he brings to Yi Hon, or Prince Gwanghae who is written as lively, curious, and earnest. His counterpart is his father, King Seonjo, played by the chameleon Lee Seong-jae. Lee makes for a particularly terrifying opponent to the young prince. His knows how to play the game and is willing to take lives without second thought - Lee plays this character as though flipping a coin, which makes it great. He"s hard to read because he shifts between good and horrifying so quickly, and so often.

None of the ministers have yet stuck out from the texture of self-important robed men, but Jo Joon-hee as Kim Ga-hee, the romantic interest, has an interesting role to play. She is a crossdresser, but is doing it because she is to live her life as a man. It"s a great take on the crossdressing theme so popular in K-drama and Jo adds an appropriate amount of levity to the role. It"s not easy to do as there are a few hijinks.

Face reading is the major plot building block, but, thankfully, "The King"s Face" builds the story on more than just that. Some dramas that base their premise on a single idea use it until it has been wrung dry. This drama has already begun to weave other elements into the import of face reading like political manipulation and religion. Hopefully it will continue to do so.

The music of "The King"s Face" is high-quality, but ill-fitting. During the action scenes, the music seems almost dream-like rather than insistent and forward-moving. In the early episodes, the music is most important in setting a tone, and, unfortunately, it does not match the mood of the drama.

This drama could go either way and I"m hoping it will be. Director Yoon Seong-sik of "Bridal Mask" and "The Slingshot" has a superb touch that I hope to see more of.

"The King"s Face" is directed by Cha Yeong-hoon and Yoon Seong-sik, written by Lee Hyang-hee and Yoon Soo-jeong, and features Seo In-guk, Jo Yoon-hee, Lee Seong-jae, and Sin Seong-rok.


Korean Drama The Three Musketeers Episodes 2, 3, 4 Review

Korean Drama The Three Musketeers Episodes 2, 3, 4 Review

I kept this drama in my interested list although I knew that it wasn't funny like before. The boredom led me back to see The Three Musketeers and I am glad for that. I’m no longer laughing like I previously did but it still makes me chuckle here and there.

Before I get into what’s been happening, I have one thing to say: where has Yong Gol Dae been all my life? Goodness! Am I the only one who finds him so freaking hot? I can’t stop myself from drooling every time he comes on screen. I don’t care if he’s a goodie or a baddie – I just want him next to me. Fine, we don’t have to be that close but goodness, he’s so sexy! When I watch him, I get The Mummy flashbacks and how I stopped paying attention to the plot whenever Ardeth Bay came on screen. It was like: “Yeah, Brendan Fraser is cute and all but who is that on the horse?” Now it’s like: “Thanks for the show, Musketeers, but can you step aside and stop blocking my view?”

The Three Musketeers Episodes 2, 3, 4 Recap by Couch-Kimchi:

Now that I’ve gotten that out of the way… what have we learned so far?

Seung Po is a cheeky bastard.

He’s an army general’s son that was raised and trained with the Crown Prince which explains their close, chingu-like relationship. He was forced into a child marriage with an ugly girl who just keeps getting uglier (how rude) so he stays home as little as possible. While he’s a troublemaker, he’s also got a good heart. He was the first to extend the hand of friendship to Dal Hyang and gave him a servant who hilariously rejected his appointment because he didn’t want to move from a mansion to one room in an inn. Poor thing.

Min Seo has probably taken a vow of chastity.

He was a young monk who protected the Crown Prince during a war and was later chosen as his royal guard. We don’t really get much from him other than him being a principled guy the ladies love. I hope his role gets more memorable in the future.

Crown Prince isn’t prejudiced.

There are a lot of things wrong with this guy but prejudiced he is not. He takes the whole “judge a man by his character” thing to heart which is why he was able to pick a monk as his royal guard and fight for Dal Hyang when his father wanted to fail him for causing a ruckus at the exam. Granted, he was partly to blame but many other men in his position would have found it difficult to spare the life of his wife’s first love, much less protect him because he’s a talented man with a lot of promise.

He turns everything into a joke, masking his true feelings and intentions which can be very annoying. Nine times out of ten, I wish someone would wipe that smirk off his face. But he’s fighting his own demons as he’s been hurt by love and as a result, has sworn off women.

The Crown Princess is frustrated.

This poor girl is probably still a virgin 5 years into her marriage and her cries and pleas seemingly fall on her husband’s deaf ears. What’s the poor girl to do? When she tells him that she understands that he loved his betrothed who’d committed suicide, he simply informs her that she’s wrong without any explanation.

We learn that she’d planned to marry Dal Hyang till she returned to Hanyang and learned that the prince’s fiancée had killed herself and unfortunately, she’d been picked as her replacement. So for five years, she’s tried to make the best of the situation, even convincing herself that they are fated but she gets nothing from him. The parental units want a grandchild but how will that happen if they never have sex? In a different world, I would advice her to begin an affair with a sexy palace guard.

The Crown Prince’s first love, Mi Ryung, is dark.

Mi Ryung was under the impression that the Crown Prince loved her till he ordered her to kill herself so she fakes her death and runs away. What happened here? We don’t know. The prince is shocked to see her alive and working for their enemies and later on, she appears in front of him to taunt him. One thing we’re sure of is that she is out for revenge. This one incident changed the course of her life and if she left with a pure soul, she returned with a dark heart. She kills a maid to steal her uniform which is ridiculous because she could have just as easily knocked her out with the poison she used on Dal Hyang and spared her life. Yes, she wouldn’t want her to wake up and blab but tie her up or something.

The king needs to be dethroned.

He wasn’t born a king but was chosen. How? By winning a biggest baby contest? No one is perfect but who wants an unstable king who cries at the drop of a hat? The Qing dynasty is their frenemy with emphasis on “enemy.” They are supposedly allies but apparently kill Joseon citizens and now want to change their relationship by making their king an Emperor that Joseon must kowtow to. The hot representative, Yong Gol Dae, pays a visit and demands that the king meet him at the guest quarters instead of him going to the palace. Citizens and generals alike decry this with many saying that the guy must be killed to show that Joseon can’t be messed with. Choi Myung Gil – the Musketeers’ teacher – thinks that cooler heads must prevail. They try to play nice but the guy refuses to budge so the king has a private chat with his son where he literally cries out in frustration.

Can someone please hand this guy a tissue?

He wants guidance from the Crown Prince who stupidly speaks in riddles instead of telling him what he needs to do and as a result, the king makes a stupid decision. There were only three options:

Go to the general and lose his kingdom’s dignity thus becoming subordinate to Qing.

Reach an impasse where there’s no compromise thus signifying that the relationship is fragile.

Behead the guy and start a war.

They were stuck between a rock and a hard place but the only real option they had was to play hardball. You can’t start a war for obvious reasons nor can you agree to terms that are detrimental to your people.

So what does our king do? He decides to meet with them on their terms. How embarrassing. Everyone in the kingdom is devastated and they weep and beg him as he makes his journey to meet my boyfriend. The guy is unstable and has a few terrifying visions on the way there that remind him of how much his people have suffered in the hands of the Qing dynasty so when he arrives, he orders Yong Gol Dae’s execution and all hell breaks loose. So basically, this man picked the two worst possible options.

His son wants to avoid a war at all costs and puts his guards on a covert mission to save Yong Gol Dae. Should a prince work directly against the king? And I am wrong for supporting him because I don’t want my hottie to leave so soon?

Dal Hyang is naive but tenacious.

He’s the epitome of a goody-goody, pure-hearted, sincere country bumpkin. When he’s assigned to watch over Seung Po while he eavesdrops on some traitors, he ends up in a nasty fight. The bad guys get away but since he can’t let it go, he follows them for miles till he lands in a death trap.

A normal person or horse would die or at least get hit if a hundred arrows were shot at them but luckily for him, he’s a television character. As he’s the only other person to have seen Mi Ryung, the prince solicits his help in capturing her. He goes to her quarters and is shocked to find that she’s made a copy of his love letter she’d stolen from the Crown Princess. How exactly did she get into the palace and steal the letter in the first place? Anyway, she injects him with poison and leaves but doesn’t kill him because he’s a lead character. Long story short, he jumps out of a window to avoid being caught in Mi Ryung’s room as does Yong Gol Dae in his bid to escape a beheading. The two meet, immediately making his secret mission for the prince secondary to the king’s order. In other words, he must capture my baby. NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

I honestly don’t care that much about the political drama and all of that but it’s still fun. I’m enjoying the humor and want to know about what happened with Mi Ryung. Did she escape on her own or did she get help? Even her father didn’t know she was alive. Did she betray the prince and if not, who was behind that and why did they need to get rid of her? She’s obviously a resourceful woman if she was able to leave with nothing and make something out of herself. I would support her if she didn’t senselessly kill that maid.

Dal Hyang is our window into this world and such characters are usually boring. He’s alright but for now, my favorite is Seung Po. I think the Crown Princess deserves better but I suppose she and her husband will eventually fall in love. She lied about burning Dal Hyang’s letter but I can’t blame her for clinging to it while her husband denies her affection.

All I want next week is more of Yong Gol Dae. Am I wrong for hoping he’s made to strip out of his clothes into some prisoner wear once captured?

Till next week!

Share this: Email Like this: Like Loading...


Korean drama Joseon Gunman Episode 22 (final) review

Korean drama Joseon Gunman Episode 22 (final) review

Joseon Gunman Episode 22 (final) review by Dramabeans:




Yoon-Kang and Soo-In finally reunite and embrace their new beginnings. It's so happy.

The reforms with posted notices and flyers are spreaded anywhere, and the farmer now don't need bow down to the aristocracy. Beside, all their government  rice debts have been removed.The town storyteller regales excited crowds with his recounting: “All of the citizens are now the owners of Joseon!”.

And then, an ominous sight appears in the distance: soldiers riding into town bearing Japanese flags. Yoon-kang and Soo-in race to the palace, only to find more troops stationed outside it.

Inside, they confront Kim Ok-kyun, who tells them this was arranged in advance. This is maddening, because he’d lied to them and gone behind their backs in negotiating with the Japanese. Kim reasons that it wasn’t a lie so much as a backup plan, for the good of the country.

Yoon-kang points out exactly what he’d pointed out when he opposed the idea the first time: When you involve foreign power in establishing a new government, your new government becomes beholden to that power. Hence, they’ve put themselves in Japan’s debt. Kim Ok-kyun replies (with shocking naivety—although perhaps it only seems naive in hindsight?) that Japan is merely helping them make progress.

Yoon-kang also makes the practical argument that the once the people hear that the revolution was dependent on Japanese might, the people will reject the new regime. Kim is tone-deaf to his concerns, so Yoon-kang has no choice but to decide, “Then I will leave. I will not work with you any further. This is not what I wanted.”

Kim Ok-kyun protests—the troops trust Yoon-kang as their leader, and his departure would spur theirs. He calls his choice an inevitable one, necessary to block the Chinese troops (who would have been called to support the old regime), and urges Yoon-kang to look past justifications to the reality of setting up their world. Which sounds like something Machiavelli would say.

But right away, a threat arises: The Japanese minister has acquiesced to the queen’s demands to be moved back to the old palace. They don’t have the manpower to fight off an attack at that palace, which is much more open than this one, and thus this is a huge risk to their coup. The Japanese minister tells them they’ll handle everything, but it’s hardly reassuring.

Kim Ok-kyun tries to damage-control by putting the king and queen in the palace’s smallest building. That sort of feels like plugging up a leaking dam with gum, doesn’t it? In this state of emergency, he pleads with Yoon-kang to stick around at least until the danger passes.

The king and queen receive a visit from the prime minister, to whom the queen gives a “gift.” Based on the way the queen tenses when a subordinate checks the gift, I’m betting there’s much more to this than a mere ornament.

As soon as the prime minister leaves, the queen tells Gojong that the Chinese armies will be on their way soon—she slipped a message inside requesting aid. Gojong is shocked at her maneuver, but she argues that they cannot leave the country to be taken over by rebels.

Choi Won-shin sits numbly at his daughter’s funeral altar, listening stoically to the report on the aftermath of the coup. He orders Sung-gil to send out messages that those who don’t pay a condolence visit for Hye-won will be endangering their own lives. But he seems more lost than angry.

Understanding his frustration with the coup’s handling, Soo-in tells Yoon-kang that if he chooses to leave, she will follow. Yoon-kang replies that he wants to leave, but it would feel as though nothing changed if he did so now. So he’ll stay just until the situation stabilizes, and then leave. Soo-in takes his hand and promises to wait with him.

As feared, it doesn’t take long for the people to feel disgust over the situation and reject the reforms. Soon Chinese troops arrive in the city as well, and the queen haughtily informs Soo-in that their revolution ends today.

The Japanese soldiers face off against the approaching Chinese forces, and initial gunfire breaks out. Yet out of nowhere the Japanese minister orders a retreat, leaving the Koreans flabbergasted. Orders from Japan have changed, and now the army is withdrawing.

With their leaders stunned speechless, the Joseon troops look around in confusion, and some soldiers bolt along with the retreating Japanese army. Yoon-kang takes the lead and starts issuing orders, then identifies their priority as guarding the king and queen. Ho-kyung takes command of the front line just as the Chinese army begins its assault.

The defense is pathetic, however, and the Kaehwa rebels are far outnumbered. Ho-kyung has to order a retreat, and the Chinese army advances inside the palace walls.

Yoon-kang urges Sang-chu to seek shelter, but Sang-chu refuses to leave him, saying that he needs to fight for a better world for his family’s sake. Oh no, he’s gonna die, isn’t he? He argues that he would have died back in Japan anyway, if not for Yoon-kang saving him. Therefore it’s his fate to stay with him till the end.

By the time Ho-kyung joins them, their numbers have dwindled to almost nothing—it’s only a matter of time before the Chinese reach the king and queen. If they don’t flee now, they’ll all die. Yoon-kang assents, heading back inside to retrieve Soo-in.

On the way in, he encounters his two Kaehwa leaders, who have decided to flee to Japan and urge Yoon-kang to accompany them. Yoon-kang is horrified that Kim Ok-kyun would abandon the soldiers fighting outside on his orders, but Kim declares the rebellion a failure and beats a hasty retreat. What a crushing disillusionment for one you’ve called Teacher all these years. 

Yoon-kang collects Soo-in and they rejoin their friends outside, but their escape is interrupted when Sang-chu gets shot in the leg. Urging the other two on first, Yoon-kang insists on staying behind, even when Sang-chu tells Yoon-kang to go on without him lest they both die.

Sang-chu asks Yoon-kang for a favor in naming his child. Yoon-kang doesn’t like hearing him talk that way and urges him to talk about it once they’ve both escaped, then turns to face the wall of incoming soldiers, ready to single-handedly take them on. Sang-chu knows that his friend will never give up on him and makes up his mind. Before Yoon-kang can stop him, he charges straight toward the enemy line, gun blazing.

Sang-chu takes down several soldiers before he’s shot down himself, riddled with bullets.

Enraged, Yoon-kang fires furiously at the enemy, aided by Ho-kyung, who returns to back him up. The two of them do an admirable job holding back the enemy, enough to give Yoon-kang time to retrieve Sang-chu’s body, but it’s a losing battle. Ho-kyung forces him to make their escape before they’re trapped.

Soon afterward, it’s all over. The Chinese general reports to the king and queen, who sigh in relief.

Outside, Yoon-kang is still reeling from the shock of everything. I’m glad they have Ho-kyung to be the level head, and he tells them that Soo-in’s family will be in danger now that the coup failed, so going there is their first concern. 

Thankfully, they get there before any authorities do. Her mother takes the news in stride, saying that she was happy for a brief moment to see the world Soo-in and her father dreamed of. She sends Soo-in off with her blessing, telling her that she can take this opportunity to go to China and see the world. “Do not worry about me,” her mother says. “I will live on, wherever I go. So you must stay alive, too. Live on, and one day return to me as my daughter.”

Choi Won-shin receives word of the failed rebellion, which revives him—he heads out immediately, determined to claim his payback.

Our fugitive trio makes it as far as the city wall, but find their exit blocked by soldiers, who are on high alert for the rebels. Making things worse, they spot Choi patrolling with his men, and in running away, Choi spots them and fires.

The bullet lands in Soo-in’s shoulder, and she goes down. Yoon-kang manages to carry Soo-in out of the line of fire and they seek shelter inside a house, which is quickly surrounded by Choi’s men and soldiers. Our guys know that the situation is looking grim, and Yoon-kang decides he’ll play decoy to let them escape. Ho-kyung stops him, though, saying that he’ll do it. And knowing that they’ll protest, he uses the only logic that would work: that if the goal is to save Soo-in, then Yoon-kang is the only one who can do it. 

“I have nothing more to lose,” Ho-kyung says. “My father, the new world—there is nothing more for me to protect. I came this far for you two, so leave this to me.”

When Yoon-kang stubbornly argues that they should escape together, Ho-kyung says, “I’m asking you as a favor. Take Soo-in away. And the dream I could not fulfill—the two of you must do it. I know too well that in this kind of situation, remaining alive is even harder than dying. But the two of you must live on. That alone will be a great solace to me.”

Choi Won-shin bursts through the gates and leads his men in, searching the house for sign of Yoon-kang. Ho-kyung shoots his way out of the courtyard and makes his way out to the street. Soldiers spot him and chase him through the city, and while Ho-kyung fends them off with gunfire for a while, ultimately he’s trapped. Bullets rip into him, and he goes down. 

With everyone chasing Ho-kyung, Yoon-kang slips out of the unguarded house carrying Soo-in. Hearing the gunfight in the distance, they pause and shed a tear, knowing Ho-kyung has fallen.

Choi Won-shin sees that the corpse is not who he’s looking for, returns to the house, and sees that Yoon-kang was there. But he’s gone now, and Choi howls in frustration.

Yoon-kang has difficulty navigating the streets because of all the officers on patrol, but thankfully it’s the friendly ones who find him: Officer Moon and Jung-hoon clear his path, providing escort to the city gates with the explanation that the king has given the order to allow them to leave. 

That allows them to exit, but Yoon-kang is confused at the change of heart. Officer Moon replies that he is no longer the king’s man, having realized Yoon-kang was right about the king not protecting Joseon. Jung-hoon hands him his gun and asks him to survive.

Yoon-kang and Soo-in travel on foot to the cave where they’d once spent the night, and pause to rest. Soo-in is in bad shape and appears to be fading, so Yoon-kang is forced to dig out the bullet with a knife, which is excruciating work. He manages to fish it out, but Soo-in asks tearfully, “Will we be able to survive? To live enough for everyone who died for us?”

He holds her close and says, “We will. It will be difficult, but we must live on till the end, enough for them as well.” I would say this isn’t quite the time for a makeout session, but given their dire circumstances, maybe they should take what they can, while they can.

Soo-in makes it through the night, and in the morning is improved enough to be cause for relief. They decide to drop by the temple to check on Yeon-ha and Je-mi, but when they arrive they hear that troops forced their way in and dragged everybody off, including the monks. Eep!

Yoon-kang tells Soo-in to stay here while he rescues the others. But there are only fifteen minutes left! 

Maybe he’s feeling impatient too, because Yoon-kang charges right into the path of a troop transporting the captives, and fires away. Some fall and others run away, and as he frees the people, the little boy he rescued picks up weapons from a fallen soldier. It’s his turn to protect his noonas, he says.

The party makes it back to the temple safe and sound in the morning, and the reunion is happy. It’s a sadder moment, though, when Yoon-kang has to tell Je-mi of Sang-chu’s fate, and how he died fighting for the better world he wanted for his family. 

This also gives his enemies another clue; Choi Won-shin hears of the gunman who showed up in the middle of the night and races to track him down. This takes him all the way to the temple, just in time to see Yoon-kang’s group heading away, and they give chase. Yoon-kang sees them off in the distance and speeds their pace, but they can hear Choi screaming threats after him.

Yoon-kang pauses when Choi issues a challenge to meet one-on-one, with the promise to let his people go unharmed in exchange. Soo-in pleads with him not to leave, and Yoon-kang agrees despite being torn.

But that night, an arrow flies into Choi’s camp with a note tied to it. In the morning, the ladies wake up to find him gone, with a note left in his place. In it, he apologizes for breaking his promise and going off alone, but explains that this is a fight he cannot avoid—it’s necessary in finally ending his and Choi’s tie of misfortune.

“I will not leave you to endure pain or loneliness on your own anymore,” he writes. “I will return to your side. So please, wait for me. Without any worry, without any sadness, let us meet again.”

Yoon-kang meets Choi Won-shin in the appointed spot. They face off with their guns in hand, out in the open, and slowly prepare to begin the gunfight. Choi is first to cock his gun, but Yoon-kang shoots faster, nailing him in the leg. 

In pain but not out, Choi musters his strength, then reloads and goes for another shot. Again Yoon-kang is faster, his bullet landing in the shoulder this time. Choi falls down, and Yoon-kang walks right up to him, this time pointing the gun at his head.

“Shoot,” Choi spits at him. Yoon-kang hesitates. Choi asks if he’s afraid, taunting him even at the last.

“How pitiful your life is,” Yoon-kang says. “And how very futile.” Choi screams at him to shoot, but Yoon-kang asks, “What does killing you now change? The dead won’t come back to life, and time that has passed cannot be turned back.”

He lowers his gun and declares, almost fiercely, “I will forgive you now. I will no longer live thinking of you. Revenge only leaves you empty in the end—you will realize this.”

And with that, Yoon-kang turns around and walks away.

Raging futilely, Choi Won-shin pulls out a small gun—Hye-won’s pistol—and lifts it to his temple. Yoon-kang hears the shot, and continues forward.

He makes it back to his family, finally free.

A few years later. 

It’s a peaceful day in a mountain village, where several women (including Soo-in and Je-mi) are serving food to a line of people. Soo-in is offered a small bouquet of flowers, and looks up in surprise—it’s Yoon-kang, all growed up and sporting facial hair, who pays her a compliment and shares a flirty moment with her. It’s sweet how they haven’t lost that lovin’ feelin’.

He’s heading out on yet another mission to fight on behalf of mistreated farmers; it appears that he’s become a vigilante hero in the years we’ve missed (dare I say, an Iljimae?).

Soo-in asks him to be careful, and he reminds her that he’s no longer alone in the fight. We see that he now commands a small army of citizens, who rally behind him as he speaks of the corrupt officials they must punish next.

He smiles up at Je-mi, her son, and Soo-in, and then embarks on his next rescue mission. His target receives warning that “that man, the people’s gunman, the Black Gunman of the Full Moon” is on his way, and that strikes terror into his heart, as well as hope into the hearts of those suffering abuse at his hands.

And the fight goes on.


Korean Drama Review Plus Nine Boys Episode 2

Korean Drama Review Plus Nine Boys Episode 2

Korean Drama Review Plus Nine Boys Episode 2 Recap by DramaBeans

After seeing the girl he loves kissing his best friend, Jin-gu heads home for a broody shower and realizes that this must be his “plus nine” fate his family warned him about. He wonders how his life went so wrong so quickly.

In the morning, Uncle Kwang-soo whines at breakfast about the healthy fare, but Mom (she’s his older sister, but we’ll just call her Mom) reminds him of his high blood pressure and tells him to get a wife if he wants to eat something different. She pushes vegetables that are good for stomach problems on Second Son Min-gu, who complains that he needs meat for athletics. A mopey Jin-gu leaves without breakfast, too upset to eat.

The new upstairs neighbors are making a lot of noise, so Min-gu holds Maknae Dong-gu up to bang on the ceiling in retaliation. Mom cheers them on, while Kwang-soo sarcastically congratulates her on her awesome parenting.

Jin-gu drags into work with a long face and has to steel himself when he sees Se-young, thinking back on her kiss with his best friend Jae-bum the night before. He ponders how you have to see some things to believe them – but even then, you may not want to believe.

When he sits at his desk she tells him to smile, but he’s in no mood to smile or even look at her. Finally Jin-gu gives her a fake grin and she laughs, saying that it’s true that if a man has a big smile and his eyes wrinkle when he laughs, it means he’s a player. She’s teasing him but the joke hurts, and Se-young asks what’s wrong but he refuses to talk about it.

Jae-bum gets to work and exchanges a few mysterious looks with Se-young. Jin-gu wonders when they became a couple and finds an article online detailing how you can tell if someone is in an office romance. He watches with increasing dismay as Se-young and Jae-bum do pretty much everything on the list, like using work as an excuse to be close, checking their phones at the same time, and leaving the room within minutes of each other.

While on a break, Jin-gu watches as Se-young is thanked for the Valentine’s chocolates by seemingly every male in the building, including the janitor. His face falls to realize that his box of chocolates from her really wasn’t anything special. He sees how she flirts with all the guys, which is another giveaway that she’s possibly dating a colleague.

Kwang-soo is approached by a work friend who complains about his unfair demotion, and Kwang-soo tells him that he’s been transferred to work on Sponge, an “infotainment” variety show about little-known trivia. It’s a decided step down from Music Camp, but he makes out like he’s only helping out temporarily over at Sponge.

A music producer comes to kiss up to Kwang-soo about his awesome broadcast last week, trying to get his band on the show, and it’s obvious he hasn’t seen the show or heard about the pantsless musician incident. Kwang-soo’s friend (cameo by Kim Jong-min as himself) tries to give him the universal sign for shut up, stop talking you idiot, but the guy misses the hint and just goes on and on until Jong-min finally tells him what happened.

Kwang-soo makes his way to the Sponge studio, thinking how he thought he’d be more settled by the time he was 39, but instead it’s like he’s going through a second puberty. He finds the Sponge writers in a room full of old props and junk (and is that a random live duck? HAHA), and it’s immediately obvious that they’re the dregs from the bottom of the writing barrel.

The writers present their ideas, like how rubbing your ears makes you resistant to tickling or rubbing a frog’s belly to make it sleep, and Kwang-soo rejects them all. The head writer says they can’t film their show if he shoots down all their ideas, but Kwang-soo just excuses himself before he can blow his top.

He talks with his friend Young-hoon, saying that he’d planned on working hard at this but the show is just so stupid. Young-hoon says variety is just weird like that (which is driven home when a couple of his own show’s comedians approach to ask which facial hair looks better on the woman) and that he should be glad to still have a producing job.

Young-hoon gives him the number of someone called the Telefairy, a sort of telephone psychic, and tells him to call her. He attributes the popularity of Grandpas Over Flowers to the Telefairy’s advice to use older actors instead of idols, and claims she’s even responsible for Crayon Pop’s famous helmets, hee. Kwang-soo understandably thinks this is all ridiculous.

Se-young has lunch with her friends and plays with her friend Da-in’s adorable daughter. Her coworker Go-eun sighs that Se-young is so popular with children and men, and gets suspicious of all her text messages lately, wondering if she’s dating someone at work. Jin-gu arrives just in time to hear Se-young deny that there’s anyone she likes. He doesn’t miss the look she throws towards Jae-bum as she says it, though.

He and Jae-bum join the ladies for lunch, and Jin-gu is uncharacteristically quiet as he watches Se-young while she plays with the little girl. Gah, the expression on his face just beams with love for her – he’s not even trying to hide it.

In a meeting that afternoon, Jin-gu frowns as Se-young and Jae-bum talk with their heads close together, and rolls his eyes when Jae-bum supports Se-young’s ideas against Director Jo’s criticism. After the meeting, Jo pulls Jin-gu aside to talk privately.

He starts by complimenting Jin-gu on being a such a hard worker and sooo very honest, and wonders if Jin-gu is upset that he never gives him credit. Jin-gu is mystified until Jo reveals that he got a low score on an anonymous employee evaluation, and strong-armed HR into telling him it was from Jin-gu.

Jo yells at him for giving him a bad review, while Jin-gu can only weakly mutter that it was supposed to be confidential. Jo says that he lost a promotion because of it, and tells Jin-gu to keep being so honest, and he’ll be honest too. Oh, this is going to be very bad. Then to make things worse, Jin-gu gets back to his desk to find Se-young and Jae-bum laughing together. He thinks to himself that at age 29, both his work and personal lives are in a shambles.

Kwang-soo pleads with his boss to take him off of Sponge, that it’s not fair since he gave everything to Music Camp and only made that one mistake, but he’s told that this was the best that could be done for him. He begs to be put back on a music show, but his boss says the order came from high in the ranks and there’s nothing he can do.

Kwang-soo sits alone (well, alone except for Random Duck) and reconsiders calling the Telefairy for advice. He gives in and calls, and is shocked when she immediately mentions a recent embarrassment involving a naked man. He hasn’t said a word, but she says his “plus nine” year will be very difficult and warns him to be careful. He asks when he’ll get married and the Telefairy says she doesn’t see any new connections in his future, so she advises him to search among his exes if he wants to get married.

Young-hoon finds Kwang-soo looking at the text receipt of the call and asks what the Telefairy said. When Kwang-soo tells him, he says that he should go find his exes — what could it hurt? He suggests Kwang-soo look up his first love Min-kyung, prompting memories of a young woman with lovely long hair, though Kwang-soo pretends disinterest.

Min-gu tells his judo coach that the doctor diagnosed him with Irritable Bowel Syndrome, and had chastised him on his impatience and gave him a tip to massage a nerve in his hand when he feels nervous. Min-gu is a beast during practice, punishing his disloyal body and thinking to himself that 19 is a chaotic age both physically and emotionally.

Min-gu takes himself to a noraebang after school, and sings to work out his emotions (“Confession” by Lim Jae-bum, one of my favorite songs). Afterward he takes moody selcas on a bridge, but he’s snapped out of his self-involvement when he sees the pretty mystery girl doing the same thing right next to him. He watches her walk away, not noticing him at all, and rubs the nerve in his hand to soothe his jumpy stomach.

Mom drives Dong-gu to acting classes, even though he whines that classes are for bad actors and he’ll be embarrassed. Mom says they need to focus on his skills rather than relying on his face, telling him that if he works hard he can be a big star like Yoo Seung-ho. Ha.

Dong-gu holds hands in class with an adorable girl, JANG BAEK-JI (Lee Chae-mi) and pouts as the other children practice facial expressions and small scenes. When the teacher asks why they’re holding hands, Baek-ji chirps that they’ve been dating for three years now (that’s so adorable I can’t even) but Dong-gu cringes in embarrassment and pushes her hand away.

Dong-gu stands to read a scene and he’s even worse than before, if that’s possible, and even the teacher can’t keep the smile on her face. The kids all laugh at him and he tries to leave, but Baek-ji stops him. She’s curious why he’s so irritable lately, and pouts that he’s changed. These two are too cute. Dong-gu wanders the hallway and thinks that his mother is right, that something strange is happening to their family.

At the end of the work day, Director Jo brings Jin-gu some extra work to take care of before he can leave. He plays it off like it’s not much, but he’s to reply to an entire year’s worth of customer complaints, individually, without copy/pasting. He can do it because he’s so very honest, right? And so Jin-gu’s torment starts.

Jin-gu works late into the night, and Se-young calls to see if he’s eaten. He tells her to bring him something and her joking “No way, I’m not your girlfriend!” hits below the belt. She offers him the snacks in her desk, but everything he finds, she’s all, Not that, I still want that. Finally she cries frustratedly that he should just eat chicken, and he turns to see her standing in the doorway holding a bag of takeout. Awww.

He picks at his dinner while she stuffs her face as usual, just enjoying the time with her alone. That is, until Jae-bum shows up with coffee and Se-young asks why he’s so late. Ugh, my heart can’t take much more Sad Jin-gu Face.

Jin-gu tells them that Director Jo read his evaluation and that’s why he’s getting all the extra work, and it’s sweet how Se-young gets all indignant on his behalf. Jae-bum waxes nostalgic about a chicken place he and Jin-gu went to in high school, and the conversation turns to a time when Jin-gu and Jae-bum were younger and they tried to invent something to get rich. Their inventions were all flops, and also hilarious, and the three best friends laugh together.

Jae-bum gets misty over the old days (he may look stern-faced but it’s obvious he’s a big old softie), and Jin-gu says it was hard but they got through them together. Se-young comments on their beautiful bromance (hear hear) and she and Jae-bum leave Jin-gu to finish his work. He gets back to his desk and notices the thickly-falling snow, and runs out to take Se-young his umbrella. When he gets outside though, his face crumples as he sees Jae-bum and Se-young sharing an umbrella. He just sadly watches them go, remembering that he’s the third wheel now.

Jin-gu talks with his friend from the bar, who asks how he didn’t know Se-young and Jae-bum were dating since he’s always with them. He’s a good friend as he says that Jae-bum is too cold, and he doesn’t understand how any girl could like him over Jin-gu. Jin-gu gets a call from Jae-bum who asks him to meet him this weekend, because he has something to tell him.

His friend assumes Jae-bum is going to tell him he’s dating Se-young, and asks what Jin-gu will do once he officially knows. He counsels Jin-gu that not telling Se-young he likes her is the same as lying, and something crosses Jin-gu’s face as he processes this.

Dong-gu rehearses at home, to his uncle and brother Min-gu’s dismay, though Mom tries to stay positive. Min-gu finally addresses the elephant in the room and says Dong-gu sounds like a robot. The upstairs neighbor starts up their noise again, and Min-gu hooks up a fan with a weight on it to pound on the ceiling (Mom, on seeing his ingenuity: “You should have studied harder!”).

Kwang-soo stomps off to his room and thinks about his disappointing life, when Young-hoon calls to tell him he’s found his first love Min-kyung. She’s still single, works as a curator of an art museum, and there’s an exhibit this weekend. Kwang-soo says he won’t be going, though he can’t stop thinking of his first love affair with the beautiful Min-kyung.

That weekend Min-gu and Jin-gu head out to meet Jae-bum for some basketball, and they invite their uncle, but Kwang-soo looks downright depressed and he refuses to go anywhere. Mom runs the vacuum into Kwang-soo’s foot and tells him to go out, date, get some fresh air, something, but he only whines and ignores her.

Young-hoon calls Kwang-soo and tells him again to go to the exhibit and Kwang-soo again refuses, but Young-hoon hears his car’s GPS in the background and smirks. He teases Kwang-soo and asks for a report later, and gets hung up on.

Kwang-soo gets more nervous the closer he gets, and keeps checking his hair in the rearview mirror. Cute. He thinks how his life has been stable for ten years, just going to and from work, but today he’s starting an adventure. He smiles a tiny smile at the thought that anything could happen.

The boys play basketball, and Jin-gu can’t stop himself from playing a bit aggressively, then glaring when Jae-bum excuses himself to take a call (assuming it’s Se-young). The two take a break and Jae-bum asks Jin-gu what’s wrong, noticing that he’s been really down lately.

Jin-gu blames it on work and Jae-bum loyally offers to get Director Jo fired, which softens up Jin-gu. Jin-gu asks when Jae-bum will get promoted – it turns out that he’s the son of the company’s CEO (guess that offer to get Jo fired wasn’t entirely a joke). Jae-bum doesn’t want to succeed through contacts though, and wants it kept a secret.

Jin-gu nervously asks what it was that Jae-bum wanted to tell him, and Jae-bum swears him to secrecy before he admits that he confessed to Se-young. Jin-gu steels himself for the news that they’re dating, but Jae-bum says that he was rejected… WHAT?! This changes everything, and Jin-gu’s surprised-but-hope-filled face just gets me right here.

Jin-gu has a hard time hiding his shock, and asks if Jae-bum really liked Se-young. Jae-bum says that he moved too fast, and now he’s going to wait. Jin-gu thinks again about times he heard Se-young say she didn’t have anyone she liked, seeing her comments from a different angle now, and wonders what he should do.

Kwang-soo finds the art gallery and when he hears a woman’s voice from another room, he recognizes it immediately. An employee confirms that it’s Min-kyung but won’t let him enter the private area, so he waits. He smiles as he looks at the art and remembers his college sweetheart, until he hears her call to him from behind. He turns and sees her… but something in his face changes when he sees his first love for the first time in many years.

Min-gu tells his friend that he’s met the girl of his dreams, and that he doesn’t know who she is but he knows they’re destined to be together. His friend scoffs that he watches too many movies, as that very girl passes unseen behind them and enters a store.

Back home, a newly-hopeful Jin-gu gets a call from Se-young, and they talk about nothing in particular as he smiles a genuine smile for the first time in days. He narrates that if life suddenly becomes difficult, hope will come to you. Again we see Kwang-soo turn at the voice of his first love and see his face freeze at the sight of her.

Mom has lunch with the fortuneteller and brings him up to speed on her boys, and asks if a ritual would help. She says they’re all so depressed, but the fortuneteller tells her to have hope, that there will be a good relationship later this year. She asks who it will be, and he can only say that it won’t be the youngest, but one of the other three. It will be a tough relationship but a strong one… but only for one of them.